At a glance
| Feature | Owely | Splitwise | Tricount | Spliit | Settle Up | Splid | Venmo Groups |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | Free, or Splitwise Pro | Free | Free, funded by donations | Free, or Premium | Free, with in-app purchases | Part of Venmo |
| Free plan limits | No expense limit | Up to 4 expenses a day | “No limits” | “No limitation” | Not stated | Extra groups cost extra | Up to 30 people a group |
| Ads on the free plan | None | Yes, Pro removes them | “No ads” | “No ads” | Yes, Premium removes them | Not stated | Not stated |
| Account needed | Yes, email code | Yes | Not to try it | No | Not stated | No sign-up | Venmo account |
| Platforms | iPhone, Android | iPhone, Android, web | iPhone, Android | Web, iPhone | iPhone, Android, web | iPhone, Android | Inside the Venmo app |
Features compared
| Feature | Owely | Splitwise | Tricount | Spliit | Settle Up | Splid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uneven splits | Exact, %, shares, adjustments | Exact, %, shares | Not stated | Amount, %, shares | Not stated | Unequal splits |
| Simplified settle-up | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Fewer transfers | Fewest transfers | Not stated |
| Receipt photos | Yes | Pro | Not stated | Yes | Premium | Not stated |
| Recurring expenses | No | Yes | Not stated | In beta | Premium | Not stated |
| Currency conversion | Free, daily rate | Pro | Included | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, 150+ currencies |
| Works offline | No | Offline entry | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Open source | No | No | No | Yes, MIT licence | No | No |
“Not stated” means the app’s own website or store listing does not say, not that the feature is missing. Quoted cells are the app’s own words.
Splitwise, the app to beat
Splitwise
Best for: groups that want a web app and recurring bills, and do not mind a daily limit or paying for Pro.
Splitwise is the incumbent, and its free plan covers a lot: unequal splits, recurring bills, simplified debts and offline entry. Its free tier now has a daily expense limit, and its knowledge base says free users can add up to 4 expenses a day.
Good
- iPhone, Android and web
- Splits equally or by percentages, shares or exact amounts, with recurring bills and simplified debts on the free plan
- Offline entry and more than 100 currencies
- Payment integrations: Venmo and PayPal in the US, Paytm in India
Watch out for
- Free accounts can add up to 4 expenses a day
- Ads on the free plan
- Currency conversion, receipt storage and scanning, charts and search are Pro features
Price: Free with limits, or Splitwise Pro, billed monthly or yearly. The US App Store lists Splitwise Pro purchases from $2.99 to $39.99; Splitwise does not publish its prices on its Pro page.
Sources: What is Splitwise Pro? (Splitwise knowledge base), Why am I seeing an expense limit? (Splitwise help), Splitwise Pro (splitwise.com), Splitwise on the App Store (US).
The alternatives
Listed in the order we would suggest them to a group that likes how Splitwise works and wants to stop hitting its limits. Owely is our app; the rest are not.
1Owely
Best for: friends, roommates and trips that add lots of expenses and want Splitwise’s way of working, free.
Owely keeps the parts of Splitwise people use every day: groups, a running balance for each person and a suggested way to settle up. It is free, with no daily limit and no ads. It does less than Splitwise Pro, so check the list below against what your group needs.
Good
- Free, with no subscription, no ads and no daily limit on expenses
- iPhone and Android apps
- Five ways to split: equally, exact amounts, percentages, shares, and adjustments on top of an even split
- Receipt photos, expense categories, a trip budget and an activity feed for every group
- Suggested settle-up payments, with debts simplified so the group needs fewer transfers
- Sign in with a one-time code sent to your email, so there is no password to forget
- Invite people with a link or code
Watch out for
- No web app: everyone in the group needs the iPhone or Android app
- No recurring expenses
- No offline mode
- No import from Splitwise and no payment integrations: Owely tracks balances, it does not move money
- Newer and smaller than the other apps on this page
Price: Free. No subscription, no ads.
Download: App Store, Google Play.
2Tricount
Best for: travel groups that need currency conversion and want something free with no account to start.
Tricount describes itself as free with no ads and no limits. It includes currency conversion and offline use, and you can try it without signing up. It is owned and operated by bunq, the Dutch bank, and lets you connect a bunq card to add shared expenses automatically.
Good
- Free, with no ads and no limits, in its own words
- Currency conversion included
- Works offline
- Try it without signing up
Watch out for
- Owned by bunq, a bank that promotes connecting its own card to the app
Price: Free.
Sources: tricount.com, tricount terms and conditions.
3Spliit
Best for: people who want open source software, a web app, or to host it themselves.
Spliit is a free, open source Splitwise alternative under the MIT licence. It runs in the browser with no account, has a native iPhone app, and anyone can deploy their own copy. Hosting of the official version is funded by donations and sponsors.
Good
- Free and open source, with no ads and no account
- Splits by amount, percentage or shares, with categories and receipt images
- Use the official site or host your own copy
Watch out for
- Recurring expenses and receipt scanning are marked as beta
- Native app is iPhone only; everywhere else it runs in the browser
Price: Free.
Sources: spliit.app, Spliit on GitHub.
4Settle Up
Best for: groups that want an app on every platform and will pay to remove ads.
Settle Up runs on Android, iOS and the web, works offline and keeps transfers to a minimum. Friends can see a group’s balance in a browser without installing anything. The free version shows ads; Premium removes them and adds receipt photos, recurring expenses, custom categories, Excel export and statistics.
Good
- Android, iOS and web
- Works offline
- Friends can view a group in a browser without the app
Watch out for
- Ads on the free version
- Receipt photos, recurring expenses and statistics are Premium
Price: Free with ads, or Premium. The US App Store lists Monthly Premium at $3.99 and Yearly Premium at $19.99, with group plans up to $149.99 for lifetime.
Sources: Settle Up on the App Store (US), Settle Up on Google Play.
5Splid
Best for: one-off trips where nobody wants to make an account.
Splid needs no sign-up, works offline and supports more than 150 currencies with conversion. It handles several payers and unequal splits. More groups and Excel export are in-app purchases.
Good
- No sign-up
- Works offline
- More than 150 currencies, converted automatically
Watch out for
- Extra groups are an in-app purchase
- Excel export is an in-app purchase
Price: Free to download. The UK App Store lists Splid Plus at £3.99 and 2 Groups at £2.99.
Sources: Splid on the App Store (UK).
6Venmo Groups
Best for: groups where everyone already pays each other with Venmo.
Venmo Groups adds shared expenses to Venmo. A group can have up to 30 people, expenses split equally by default and can be edited, and you pay what you owe from inside Venmo.
Good
- Paying back happens in the same app
- No new app if everyone already has Venmo
Watch out for
- Everyone needs a Venmo account
- Up to 30 people a group
Price: Included in Venmo.
Sources: Setting up a group (Venmo help), Group splits and making group payments (Venmo help).
Which one should you pick?
- You like Splitwise but keep hitting the daily limit or the ads: Owely.
- Your trip crosses currencies and you want them converted for free: Tricount or Splid.
- You want open source, a web app, or to host it yourself: Spliit.
- You need recurring bills, offline entry and a web app, and the limit does not bother you: stay on Splitwise.
- Everyone already pays each other with Venmo: Venmo Groups.
How we compared
We read each app’s official website, help pages and App Store or Google Play listing on 25 October 2026 and list only what those sources say. Quoted phrases are the app’s own words. Prices are App Store prices in the country shown, and they change, so check the store before buying. We did not test hidden limits or features a source does not mention, and we mark those “Not stated”.
Owely is our app, so read its entry with that in mind. If something here about another app is out of date, email privacy@owelyapp.com and we will correct it.
Sources
Each source was read on 25 October 2026. Prices and plans change, so check the app store before you pay for anything.
- Splitwise Pro (splitwise.com)
- What is Splitwise Pro? (Splitwise knowledge base)
- Why am I seeing an expense limit? (Splitwise help)
- Splitwise on the App Store (US)
- tricount.com
- tricount terms and conditions
- Settle Up on the App Store (US)
- Settle Up on Google Play
- Splid on the App Store (UK)
- spliit.app
- Spliit on GitHub
- Setting up a group (Venmo help)
- Group splits and making group payments (Venmo help)